About the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality

The Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality (LDEQ) has its headquarters office in Baton Rouge, LA, as well as regional offices located across the state.
LDEQ headquarters is located in the Galvez Building at 602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA. The Galvez Building is part of Capitol Park, a collection of facilities in the heart of downtown Baton Rouge. The building is named for Spaniard Bernardo de Galvez, one of Louisiana’s most colorful governors, who drove the British from Baton Rouge in 1779 when Spain still owned most of the Louisiana territory. 
The LDEQ Headquarters in downtown Baton Rouge

LDEQ business hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.
For your convenience when visiting, free parking is available inside the Galvez Parking Garage located across North St. from the Galvez Building. Entrances to the garage are located off of North St and another off of Main St. 

Please see the following steps below to have parking validated in the Galvez Parking Garage:

  1. Pull directly into the garage from either of the two entrances and locate a parking spot. (Do not park in spaces marked reserved or back into a parking spot. Please pull forward into the spot and park within the lines).
  2. Either write down or take a picture of your license plate.
  3. Check in with the Security Officer at the front desk. (Must be completed within 30 minutes of parking)
    1. If you have a smartphone the Security Officer will have a QR code for you to scan.
    2. If you do not have a smartphone or the QR code does not work, let the person you are meeting with know. They will get your information and provide it to dedicated staff to validate your parking.

For safety and security reasons, visitors must sign in at the security desk and present photo identification. 


The Department's mission is to provide service to the people of Louisiana through comprehensive environmental protection in order to promote and protect health, safety and welfare.


To be a respected steward of the State's environment.

Organizational Structure

Below is an overview of the five major offices within the agency. It provides information on the mission, function, and organization along with a biography for each member of management.