In accordance with LAC 33:IX.2311.A.1, an LPDES discharge permit is required for the discharge of pollutants from any point source into waters of the state of Louisiana. A point source is any discernible, confined, and discrete conveyance, including but not limited to any pipe, ditch, channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, rolling stock, concentrated animal feeding operation, landfill leachate collection system, vessel, or other floating craft from which pollutants are or may be discharged.
Individual Permit Fees
Annual Fees are calculated by multiplying the rating points times the rate factor. The rating points are computed using the appropriate annual fee rating worksheet. This worksheet should accompany your draft permit. The current rate factor for municipal facilities is $148.00/rating point and for all other facilities is $271.96/rating point. The annual fee shall be paid each year a facility is subject to regulation. The year corresponds with the state's fiscal year of July 1 through June 30. For new facilities the annual fee may be prorated to correspond to the start-up date of the facility. The annual fee for inactive facilities that wish to retain permit coverage may be reduced by 50% any year in which the facility is inactive for the entire fiscal year. In no case will the fee be reduced below the minimum fee. The minimum annual fee is currently $345.00.
New, Modified and Reissued Permit Fees shall be 20% of the calculated annual fee, but not less than the minimum annual fee.
General Permit Fees
|Gen-LAG78-C & D Landfills||$660|
|Gen-LAG75-Exterior Vehicle Wash||$264|
|Gen-LAR04-Small MS4 >1,000 <10,000||$100|
|Gen-LAR04-Small MS4 >10,000 <50,000||$500|
|Gen-LAR04-Small MS4 >50,000 <150,000||$1500|
|Gen-LAG949-GW Remediation (SW)||$990|
|Gen-LAG49-Sand and Gravel||$660|
|Gen-LAG679-Hydrostatic Test (SW)||$792|
|Gen-LAG759-Mobile Vehicle/Equipment Wash||$317|
|Gen-LAG83- Petroleum UST Remediation||$990|
|Gen-LAG839-Petroleum UST (SW)||$2,640|
|Gen-LAG53-Sanitary Class I||$99|
|Gen-LAG54-Sanitary Class II||$264|
|Gen-LAG56-Sanitary Class III||$495|
|Gen-LAG57-Sanitary Class IV||$594|
|Gen-LAG309-UST Dewatering (SW)||$851|
Due Dates/Late Payments
Fees shall be received by the Department by the due date indicated on the invoice. Payments not received within 15 days of the due date will be charged a late payment fee. Failure to pay the prescribed application fee or annual fee within 90 days after the due date, will constitute a violation of the regulations and shall subject the person to applicable enforcement action.
The Louisiana State Legislature approved an "across the board" 10 % increase in LDEQ permit fees. This new rule affects all permitting fees, including air, water, and waste permit annual fees, as well as draft permit fees and water quality certification. In addition, new fees were adopted for sewage sludge/biosolid permits, which previously did not have any associated fees.
The new water permit fees were adopted into LAC 33:IX, Chapter 13 and are effective as of July 1, 2017. Applications and Notices of Intent received on or before June 30, 2017 will be processed under the old fee schedule. Applications and Notices of Intent received on or after July 1, 2017 will be processed under the new fee schedule.
*For pre-paid fees, such as the large construction storm water general permit (LAR100000) and water quality certification fees: Applicants who submit the old fee between July 1, 2017 and July 31, 2017 will be mailed an invoice for the additional 10%. After August 1, 2017, Notices of Intent without the current fee will be deemed incomplete and will not be processed until the correct amount is received.
General payment information
Fees for the Water Quality Annual Maintenance Fee are assessed in accordance with Environmental Regulatory Code Title 33 Part IX Chapter 13
A surcharge of 20% of the department imposed permit fee, with a maximum of $150.00, shall be added to the fee for each water discharge permit issued pursuant to R.S. 30:2075 for discharges in the Atchafalaya, Terrebonne, Barataria, Lake Pontchartrain, and Mississippi River water quality management basins as defined by the department Water Quality Management Basin Plans.
This invoice is for the Fiscal Year indicated on the invoice which is from July 1 – June 30.
General Permits - General permit numbers begin with LAG or LAR.
If a permitted facility is active at anytime during the billing period, it is subject to the entire assessed fee and is not eligible for a prorated amount.
To terminate a Stormwater Multi-Sectior General Permit, please submit a Notice of Termination form (NOT) by mail to the address indicated on the form.
To terminate a Non-Stormwater General LPDES Permit, please submit a Request for Termination form (RFT) by mail by mail to the address indicated on the form.
Individual Permits - Individual permit numbers begin with LA0.
LDEQ regulations allow for the proration of an Individual water discharge permit fee based on the initial start up or shutdown of the facility generating a water discharge. Please contact your LDEQ representative listed below to request this modification.
To terminate a Individual Permit please submit a Request for Termination form (RFT) by mail by mail to the address indicated on the form.
YOU MUST INCLUDE THE DATE THAT YOU CLOSED/SOLD THE FACILITY.
WITHOUT THE DATE, THE INVOICE WILL STILL BE OWED.
The original permit owner is liable for all fees associated with the water discharge permit, until the proper ownership transfer forms have been submitted to LDEQ and processed by the department. The NOC-1 Form should be completed and submitted to the LDEQ immediately by mail to the address indicated on the form.
Mailing address incorrect
Please contact us directly with your Agency Interest (AI) number, Invoice number, and correct address at the contact information below
Other questions please contact your DEQ Financial Services representative
Attn: Ashley Broom
LDEQ - Financial Services Division
PO Box 4303
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4303
Phone: (225) 219-5337
Fax: (225) 219-3868