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Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

 
Part VII.  Solid Waste 

 
Subpart 2.  Recycling 

 

Chapter 105.  Waste Tires 

 
§10505. Definitions 
 A.  ... 

* * * 
 Qualified Scrap or Salvage Yard⎯any facility that is required to be licensed pursuant to 
R.S. 32:752. 

* * * 
 AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 30:2411-2422. 
 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Environmental Quality, 
Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste Division, LR 18:37 (January 1992), amended 
LR 20:1001 (September 1994), LR 22:1213 (December 1996), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2773 (December 2000), 
LR 27:829 (June 2001), LR 27:2226 (December 2001), LR 28:1953 (September 2002), LR 
29:2779 (December 2003), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1323 
(June 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:3158 
(December 2005), LR 33:**. 
 
§10519. Standards and Responsibilities of Generators of Waste Tires 
 A. – B.  … 
 C. Each tire dealer, other than qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers selling tires 
salvaged from a Louisiana-titled vehicle, doing business in the state of Louisiana shall be 
responsible for the collection of the $2 waste tire fee upon the sale of each passenger/light truck 
tire, $5 waste tire fee upon the sale of each medium truck tire, and $10 waste tire fee upon the 
sale of each off-road tire. For recapped or retreaded tires, a waste tire fee of $1.25 shall be 
collected upon the sale of each recapped or retreaded tire. Tire dealer includes any dealer selling 
tires in Louisiana, other than qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers selling tires salvaged 
from a Louisiana-titled vehicle.  Qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers are only exempt on 
tires salvaged from Louisiana-titled vehicles through June 30, 2008.  Any new or used tires sold 
by qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers that are not salvaged from Louisiana-titled vehicles 
shall have the appropriate fees collected upon the sale. 
 D. Each dealer of passenger/light truck tires, medium truck tires, or off-road tires 
shall remit all waste tire fees collected as required by LAC 33:VII.10535.B and C to the 
department on a monthly basis on or before the twentieth day following the month during which 
the fees were collected. The fees shall be remitted to the Office of Management and Finance, 
Financial Services Division. Each such dealer shall also submit a Monthly Waste Tire Fee Report 
(Form WT02, available from the Office of Management and Finance, Financial Services 
Division), to the Office of Management and Finance, Financial Services Division, on or before 
the twentieth day of each month for the previous month’s activity, including months in which no 
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fees were collected. Each tire dealer required to make a report and remit the fee imposed by this 
Section shall keep and preserve records as may be necessary to readily determine the amount of 
fee due. Each such dealer shall maintain a complete record of the quantity of tires sold, together 
with tire sales invoices, purchase invoices, inventory records, and copies of each Monthly Waste 
Tire Fee Report for a period of no less than three years. These records shall be made available for 
inspection by the administrative authority at all reasonable hours.These records shall be 
maintained by all parties for a minimum of three years and shall be made available for audit 
and/or inspection at the place of business during regular business hours. 
 E. – E.1.  ... 
  2. "All Louisiana tire dealers, other than qualified scrap or salvage yard tire 
dealers selling tires salvaged from a Louisiana-titled vehicle, are required to collect a waste tire 
cleanup and recycling fee of $2 for each passenger/light truck tire, $5 for each medium truck tire, 
and $10 for each off-road tire, upon sale of each tire. These fees shall also be collected upon 
replacement of all recall and adjustment tires. Tire fee categories are defined in the Waste Tire 
Regulations. No fee shall be collected on tires weighing more than 500 pounds or solid tires. 
This fee must be collected whether or not the purchaser retains the waste tires. Tire dealers must 
accept from the purchaser, at the time of sale, one waste tire for every tire sold, unless the 
purchaser elects to retain the waste tire." 
  3. “Qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers are only exempt on tires 
salvaged from Louisiana-titled vehicles through June 30, 2008.  Any new or used tires sold by 
qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers that are not salvaged from Louisiana-titled vehicles 
shall have the appropriate fees collected upon the sale.” 
 F. – N.  … 
 O. All tire wholesalers shall keep a record of all tire sales made in Louisiana. These 
records shall contain the name and address of the purchaser, the date of the purchase, the number 
of tires purchased, and the type and size of each tire purchased. These records shall be kept for a 
period of three years and shall be available and subject to inspection by the administrative 
authority at all reasonable hours. These records shall be maintained by all parties for a minimum 
of three years and shall be made available for audit and/or inspection at the place of business 
during regular business hours. 
 P. All generators of waste tires (e.g., new tire dealers, used tire dealers, qualified 
scrap or salvage yards, and recappers) shall maintain a complete record of purchase invoices, 
inventory records, and sales invoices for a period of no less than three years. Qualified scrap or 
salvage yard tire dealers shall make available to the administrative authority the register of 
business transactions as required by R.S. 32:757(A), and also maintain a record of the number of 
tires recovered from Louisiana-titled vehicles, which tires are resold.These records shall be open 
for inspection and/or audit by the administrative authority at all reasonable hours. These records 
shall be maintained by all parties for a minimum of three years and shall be made available for 
audit and/or inspection at the place of business during regular business hours. Qualified scrap or 
salvage yard tire dealers are only exempt on tires salvaged from Louisiana-titled vehicles 
through June 30, 2008. Any new or used tires sold by qualified scrap or salvage yard tire dealers 
that are not salvaged from Louisiana-titled vehicles shall have the appropriate fees collected 
upon the sale. 
 AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 30:2411-2422. 
 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Environmental Quality, 
Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste Division, LR 18:40 (January 1992), amended 



FINAL RULE/January 20, 2007        SW042 

3 

LR 20:1001 (September 1994), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2777 (December 2000), LR 27:830 (June 2001), LR 
27:2227 (December 2001), LR 28:1953 (September 2002), LR 29:1818 (September 2003), LR 
29:2780 (December 2003), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1323 
(June 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2503 
(October 2005), LR 33:**. 
 
§10521. Standards and Responsibilities of Motor Vehicle Dealers 
 A. – B.  ... 
 C. Motor vehicle dealers shall remit all waste tire fees collected as required by LAC 
33:VII.10535.B and C to the department on a monthly basis on or before the twentieth day 
following the month during which the fees were collected. The fees shall be remitted to the 
Office of Management and Finance, Financial Services Division. Each such dealer shall also 
submit a Monthly Waste Tire Fee Report (Form WT02, available from the Office of Management 
and Finance, Financial Services Division) to the Office of Management and Finance, Financial 
Services Division, on or before the twentieth day of each month for the previous month’s 
activity, including months in which no fees were collected. Each motor vehicle dealer is required 
to make a report and remit the fee imposed by this Section and shall keep and preserve records as 
may be necessary to readily determine the amount of fee due. Each such dealer shall maintain a 
complete record of the quantity of vehicles sold, together with vehicle purchase and sales 
invoices, and inventory records, for a period of no less than three years. These records shall be 
maintained by all parties for a minimum of three years and shall be made available for audit 
and/or inspection at the place of business during regular business hoursby the administrative 
authority at all reasonable hours. 
 D. – H.  ... 
 AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 30:2411-2422. 
 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Environmental Quality, 
Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1324 (June 2005), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:**. 
 
§10533. Manifest System 
 A. – C.  ... 
 D. Completed manifests shall be maintained by all parties for a minimum of three 
years and shall be made available for audit and/or inspection at the place of business during 
regular business hours. 
 AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 30:2411 et seq. 
 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Environmental Quality, 
Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste Division, LR 20:1001 (September 1994), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2780 (December 2000), LR 27:831 (June 2001), LR 27:2228 (December 2001), LR 29:2780 
(December 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2504 
(October 2005), LR 33:**. 


