Most Frequently Asked Questions
Asbestos Containing Materials and Waste Materials

Renovation/Demolition

Individuals Seeking Accreditation of Asbestos Disciplines

A. Training
1. Question:

What type of training is required to become accredited in Louisiana to perform asbestos abatement or other asbestos related activities?

Response:

All personnel seeking accreditation as Asbestos Workers, Supervisor/Contractors (including air monitoring personnel), Inspectors, Management Planners, or Project Designers must attend and pass an Asbestos Hazardous Emergency Response Act (AHERA) course that is recognized by EPA or an EPA authorized state.  However, if the course was taken from a training provider other than a Louisiana recognized training provider, an additional 2-hour regulations class is required to become accredited to perform work in Louisiana. 

In order to locate a Louisiana recognized asbestos Training Provider, please see the Asbestos main website at:  http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/2883/Default.aspx, under the heading: Asbestos Training Providers.
Any of the Louisiana Recognized Asbestos Training Providers can provide the 2-hour regulations course.  As an FYI, if you took the course with a Louisiana recognized Training Provider initially, the 2-hour regulations were included.  

In addition, if you or your employees did not have to take the 2-hour Louisiana Asbestos regulations because they were working under an Administrative and Emergency Order under one of the hurricanes when they first applied to LDEQ and were accredited, they are basically grandfathered in and this additional class is not required.

However, if they are just recently applying for accreditation in Louisiana for the first time and took a class from any Training Provider other than a La. recognized Training Provider and will not be working under an Emergency Order (for H. Katrina-ends June 29, 2009) and (for H. Gustav and H. Ike, ends July 6, 2009), a certificate for a Louisiana 2-hour regulations class from a Louisiana Recognized Training Provider is required.

B. Accreditation

1. Question:

What accreditations are required for individuals by La. Dept. of Environmental Quality to perform asbestos related work?

Response:

Following approval for the Contractor from the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors, all abatement workers and supervisors performing work in Louisiana (or self employed personnel working for a licensed contractor) are required to be accredited by LDEQ.  The Asbestos Accreditation Form (AAC-1) can be found at http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/2883/Default.aspx.  Note: There is a fee for emergency processing (5 days or less).  Normal processing at this time is approximately 3-4 weeks.

All personnel working as Asbestos Workers, Supervisor/Contractors (including air monitoring personnel), Inspectors, Management Planners, or Project Designers must be accredited by Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality.  Initial and subsequent refresher AHERA training by an EPA recognized training provider or training provider recognized by a state program with EPA authorization is required for accreditation as well as a picture for an I.D. card and fees. An asbestos accreditation application (AAC-1) can be found at http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/2883/Default.aspx. Also, a list of Louisiana recognized training providers can also be found at this link. 
2. Question:

How can I become accredited to work with asbestos activities in the state of Louisiana and how long does it take to become accredited in an asbestos discipline in this state?

Response:

An asbestos accreditation application (AAC-1) can be found at http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/2883/Default.aspx.  If the applicant applies for the desired discipline (including, but not limited to 1”x 1 ¼” photo, course certificates, and appropriate fees), and pays for emergency processing, an accreditation should be issued within 5 working days.  If no emergency fees are paid, and all required information is received, an accreditation should be issued within 30 working days.

3. Question:

I had a license for Asbestos Inspector and Contractor/Supervisor in Louisiana and it expired in 2007 and I forgot to renew.  My training is up to date and I was wondering what information would I need to provide for recertification?

Response:

The LDEQ will accept any Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act (AHERA) training from a training provider that is recognized by EPA, or recognized by a state that is authorized by EPA. You will need to complete an asbestos application (AAC-1) form which can be found on the Asbestos web site at: http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/2883/Default.aspx under the heading, Asbestos Accreditation and Notification Forms, along with the fees (noted on the form), a 1X1 ¼” full face picture (for ID card), and any subsequent training since you applied to LDEQ.  
C.
Asbestos Regulations

1. Question:

Where can I find the regulations on Asbestos demolition and renovation activities?

Response:

The Louisiana Air Quality Regulations, Chapter 51 (Section 5151) regarding Asbestos Demolition and Renovation abatement activities as well as Chapter 27, accreditation of Workers, Supervisor/Contractors (including air monitoring personnel), Inspectors, Management Planners, and Project Designers are located at http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/96/Default.aspx. 
D.
Required Demolition and/or Renovation Notification Requirements

1. Question:

What Notifications are required by La. Dept. of Environmental Quality for Demolition and/or renovation activities?

Response:

Notification of any Demolition activity regardless of whether the building contains asbestos must be submitted to the LDEQ via a Negative Declaration (AAC-2) form.  All renovation activities disturbing asbestos must also be reported via the most current Asbestos Notification form for Demolition or Renovation (AAC-2), which can be found at http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/2883/Default.aspx.  Note: 10-day notification is waved for the affected Hurricane area; however, notification is required within 24 hours of abatement commencement.   

E.
Project Designer Requirements

1. Question:

At XYZ school, we are needing to renovate some of our floors.  Part of the floors have vinyl tiles from the mid to late 70’s that I assume have asbestos.  They are in good condition, but do not look good.  Do I need to get permission, fill out a form, or anything special to let bids on the removal and replacement of the floor tiles in question?

Response: 

The removal of this type of floor may or may not be regulated depending on how the floor is removed. 

Vinyl Asbestos Tile (VAT) is considered a Category 1 material. Basically, if the VAT not subjected to chipping, sanding, grinding, cutting, or abrading, then it is not regulated.  If a chipper or other mechanical means is used it will probably become regulated & subject to all regulations.   You can use, heat, dry ice, water, etc. & remove by hand basically keeping most of the material intact & the VAT will not be considered “Regulated.”

1- 10-work day notification using an AAC-2 form: http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/2883/Default.aspx  
2- Use of a Licensed Contractor

3- Accredited personnel, including Workers, project Contractor/Supervisors, and Project Designer (for any school K-post graduate).

3- Wetting, Leak-tight containers, use of a SW Transporter (required whether it is regulated or not), and proper disposal (required whether it is regulated or not).

Basically all of the Air Quality regulations in particular, LAC 33:III.5151 and Chapter 27 may be found at:  http://www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/96/Default.aspx. 
See the definitions below to determine whether the material is or will be regulated:

Regulated Asbestos-Containing Material (RACM)—

a.
friable asbestos material;

b.
Category I nonfriable ACM that has become friable;

c.
Category I nonfriable ACM that will be or has been subjected to sanding, grinding, cutting, or abrading; or

d.
Category II nonfriable ACM that has a high probability of becoming or has become crumbled, pulverized, or reduced to powder by the forces expected to act on the material in the course of demolition or renovation operations regulated by this Subchapter.

Friable Asbestos Material—any material containing more than 1 percent asbestos as determined by using the method specified in Appendix A, Subpart F, 40 CFR, Part 763, Section 1, Polarized Light Microscopy that, when dry, can be crumbled, pulverized, or reduced to powder by hand pressure. If the asbestos content is less than 10 percent as determined by a method other than point counting by polarized light microscopy (PLM), verify the asbestos content by point counting using PLM, or an equivalent EPA approved estimation technique, or assume the amount to be greater than one percent and treat the material as asbestos-containing material.
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